Scalefour North

Farringdon and The Boy

Another lovely show in Wakefield put on by The Scalefour Society!

Clutton by Tim Venton

Scalefour North is the northern show which the Society hosts – it must be one of the friendliest and most laid back shows you can attend. No barriers, so you can get up close and personal with the exhibits, or even the exhibitors too if you’re feeling brave!

And what a lovely selection of layouts too. David Furmage’s new layout, Clackmannan Goods, was a delight and I was very pleased to see it finished too. There wasn’t a bad layout so if I don’t mention it, that’s no an indication that it wasn’t worth looking at! But I really enjoyed seeing Farringdon – I remember this vividly from Model Railway Journal No. 77 (the tenth anniversary issue) from 1995 – I can remembering buying this issue myself at the age of eleven or so. Perhaps not the average buyer but the quality drew me in. Thomas was really taken by this and Clutton too. Both very good models of Grat Western branchlines – he has taken a liking to the GWR – I blame Father-in-Law 2.0 for this!

The whole show was full of conversation and cracking modelling – easily one of the highlights of the modelling calendar for me.

Forget what the miserable armchair types spout online, the Society is one of the friendliest and most welcoming societies I think you’ll find – if you model in 4mm scale to any standard, membership is well worth considering.

Clackmannan Goods by David Furmage

3 thoughts on “Scalefour North

  1. It was another excellent show. Came away with some bits for the layout plan to get started with

    I will have to look through my photos and videos ( took a lot) and upload them (not updated the blog in a while either).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: ‘Getting Them Young’ – Are We Doing it Wrong? | West Halton Sidings

  3. I agree with your sentiments about the show James. As someone who finds large gatherings stressful and anxiety-inducing I never get these emotions at a Scalefour show- just ones of acceptance, encouragement, friendliness and welcome. The standard of modelling was sublime and being able to see two layouts under construction was of vital importance to those of us (with D827 Kelly) at the start of our P4 journey. I especially liked the Frodsham layout as it utilises a favourite concept of mine- no station and the suggestion of longer/more sidings off scene. This is certainly going to be a layout to keep a close interest in over the future years as it develops. With Faringdon I felt like I already knew the station having read Adrian Vaughan’s book on the branch. There was not a bad layout to be seen- which is something that cannot be said about some of the larger mainstream shows.

    An added bonus was meeting up with and chatting with Thomas Wells (as seen in header). His enthusiasm is entrancing- I love the fact that he has rejected Thomas, OO gauge and the tension lock coupler before his tenth birthday. Not only that but he is a very confident- though not at all arrogant- articulate, well spoken and pleasant young man to have a conversation with- and that is what you do- he is no mere child. He is an absolute star and James and wife must rightly be extremely proud of this wonderful young man. He is a credit to you all. If only all youngsters were like him. I await his first layout with interest (can he be the first child to exhibit at a S4 show?- I think he could be) and his continued presence at the exhibitions.

    Like

So what do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.